Travel

The First Time is Always Memorable or Not: 2012 Log

This year was our Dora, The Explorer Year; it’s because 2012 has given us opportunities to travel and  fulfill a long time dream to start writing. Not only that there was a lot of first time for the both of us, a lot of conquered fear and a major event that made one of our worlds to end.

JANUARY

Chinese New Year in Binondo, Manila

“This is actually my first time to roam around the streets of Binondo. And it was perfect pa kasi we decided to go there during the Chinese New Year! Eng Bee Tin is full of people, lots of dragon dancers and cutie patotie chinese kids. It was surreal of having a chance to eat authentic noodles, fried siopao and the likes. YUM!” – Kaiye 

january2012

Credits to Awee Tallungan for this picture

FEBRUARY

Ilocos Heritage Tour

“My favorite destination since college is the Ilocos region; this year I have returned in the area for the 5th time. Though the places remain the same it feels like the first time. The long hours of travel by bus worth it because of the places that is worth seeing.  The food in Ilocos is a must-try.  My visit to Ilocos is like visiting old friends to catch up on stories that have happened since the last time you saw them.” – Endette

Vigan at night..

Vigan at night..

Taking a stroll down the street

Taking a stroll down the street

17th Hot Air Balloon Festival, Clark Field Pampanga

“Waking up around 3:00 am, driving to Clark by 4:00 am whew! A big sacrifice going to this event! But it was worth it, watching those hot air balloons up in the air…” – Kaiye

february2012

Credits to Awee Tallungan for this picture

MAY

“I didn’t expect that this could happen so quickly. My world literally turned upside down when I heard the news. Knees weaken, tears falling in my eyes, hugs from different kinds of people is the only thing I want. This incident made me realize that I didn’t want to be home always. It just make me miss my mom even more. So I decided to go out and find myself, try to think, have some fresh air on how I’ll survive without the only person I love.” – Kaiye 

may2012

Trying to survive everyday

JUNE

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

“A month after my lost, I still have my commitment to go to Sabah. And I thought that this is will be a great escape for me… Though I still have a lot of an unfinished business there but hey! Maybe next year who knows I might go back and climb Mt. Kinabalu!” – Kaiye

june2012

Terimah Kasi, Kota Kinabalu

AUGUST

Palawan / The birth of our blog

“Come rain or shine, this trip will push through” this was my statement when we we’re deciding if this trip will go on. The Palawan Trip was my first time to go on a long trip without the responsibility of taking care students. This was also a first for it was my first plane ride, please don’t act surprised. I have traveled north and south of the Philippines and yes, it’s either by bus or by ferry but never on a plane. -Endette

221828_10151012633971333_1387265783_n

Big Lagoon

The Palawan expedition was a springboard to fulfill my long time dream to blog and to share my thoughts to the rest of the world. The blog that Kaiye and I created was also published on Air Asia’s web magazine.

229813_376593875756834_1347333116_n

NOVEMBER

Boracay Island

People always ask if we’ve been to Boracay and no is always the answer; 2012 and our favorite airline has given me another chance to travel. Boracay allowed me to do activities that I only dreamed of like Parasailing, Paraw Sailing and cliff jumping. – Endette 

485098_4782171239485_1349175405_n

Violet and Pink Power

My former student's are everywhere. Last time I saw them they were freshmen in college; but now they are in their on-the-job training in Boracay.

My former student’s are everywhere. Last time I saw them they were freshmen in college; but now they are in their on-the-job training in Boracay.

DECEMBER

Intramuros Day Tour

“I know being a tour guide is one of my dream job but I didn’t see this one coming. I was so tired for the last 3 days and yet we still able to pull off this mini-gala! Haha though there was no pressure being with these guys ‘cos I actually enjoyed my day with them! :)”  – Kaiye 

december2012

Home-Stay in Batangas

Before the Christmas Holidays; a friend invited us to stay with them for a couple of days in Tanauan City, Batangas. The trip allowed me to see the sights of Taal Volcano, Basilica of Taal Batangas and Tanauan City’s beauty. It was also my first time to live in a home during a travel which was a real joy for I got to meet Leanne’s family our host during the trip. – Endette

Enjoying the view in Taal, Batangas

Enjoying the view in Taal, Batangas

The best part of our trips this year was the experience of meeting people and the joy of learning something from them. That from a nod and a “hello” can start a conversation that can help you survive delayed flights. That people are kind and they are willing to go out of their way to help someone in need.

This year we also got to meet brilliant travel bloggers (you know who are!)  whom are very willing to share their experiences and tips to “newbies” like us.

Now we’re ready to face 2013! Cheers to more (meaningful) travels and (deathifying) adventures!

Happy Holidays!

3

blogcarnival

This is our first ever entry (lahvet!!!) for the Pinoy Travel Bloggers Blog Carnival with Gay Mitra-Emami of Pinay Travel Junkie and Regine Camille Garcia of Between Coordinates  as hosts of this month’s 2012: This Year in Travel.

28 thoughts on “The First Time is Always Memorable or Not: 2012 Log

  1. I’m also on the process of making my year-ender entry🙂 Next year will surely be a travel year and I hope to meet other travel bloggers as well. Thanks for this year Ate Endette and Ate Kaiye!

  2. As the saying goes, you never forget your first time. =) Congrats on a year of firsts! Here’s to more awesome firsts next year!

  3. Pingback: 2012 Year-Ender Blog Carnival: Traveling Like it's The End of The World!!! : Between Coordinates

  4. Seems like you had a blast last 2012. I hope 2013 will be an even better year for the both of you. Cheers to more exciting trips!

  5. fun-filled adventures you girls had last year! i also love vigan at night romantic ba! Also, i is really fun to go on a foodtrip in binondo! I might do that again sometime. Congrats to air asia article! Ibang level!!🙂 cheers for more this year and hope to meet you girls someday🙂

    • The vigan really romantic, al fresco lang ang peg.. agree, sulit ang lakad sa binondo food trip.. we were soo excited nung nakita nmin ung sa airasia nakakainspire.. thanks for reading our 2012 year ender.. yup! Hope to meet you too.. happy 2013
      -Endette

  6. Hi there! I know this is sokrt of off-topic howeever I needed to
    ask. Does managing a well-established blog like yours take a large amount of work?
    I amm brand neww to writing a blog but I do write
    in my journal everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my
    experience and views online. Please let me know if you have any
    kind of recommendations or tips for brand new aspiring
    bloggers. Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

